Unfortunately couldn’t manage to complete it in time …

I would have worked on it more, but what could I do when after many days not finding the time to sculpt I uncovered my sculpture and found it solid?! šŸ˜¦ It was almost dried, could just polish the surface a bit with some wet stuff, add some hair and improve the neck…
Ah it drives you nuts when you don’t have the right tools, worse of all when you don’t have any time, but insist to do a work anyway! No, I’m not happy, but I won’t loose hope. Next time I’ll try to make a smaller sculpture which will be easier to manage, and create some better tools (like the base), paper just couldn’t resist the weight of that much clay, indeed it ended up with some cracks at the neck, ’cause the weight of the head applied so much pressure on the neck.

OK, did you guess who he is? Don’t worry if you didn’t, here is the answer:
He is Tom Meighan, the singer of Kasabian Band. What do you think about it? Do you find any resemblance?!

I took many shots, but with lack of light and a too amateur photograph (me!), they just didn’t show the details I liked to get. The following photo is one of the few shots which I liked, used flash light for that, then improve the lights in Photoshop. I’d like to record a brief video, turning the sculpture around, but not having any rotating base, I should wait a bit.

Tom Meighan - Kasabian - Clay Sculpture, Profile

Tom Meighan – Kasabian – Clay Sculpture, Profile

Until next post, bye! šŸ™‚

6 thoughts on “Unfortunately couldn’t manage to complete it in time …

    • Thank you so much, Jill. Your uplifting words meant a lot to me!
      I wanted this sculpture to look like Tom Meighan, but my attempt failed as the clay didn’t give me the chance. Well, maybe even if it didn’t dry too soon I couldn’t make it look like him anyway! šŸ™‚
      However now I feel much better about it. These two comments I received today really lifted my spirit. Thank you very much again!

Leave a Reply

