I’m happy with the result, but hyper realism is still far away!

Here’s the result of 17-18 hours of sacrificed sleep! Another portrait drawing using my old mechanical pencil.
Credits of the beautiful photo I used as model for this drawing go to: Rifqi Dahlgren (click to visit his blog). He kindly let me use his work as model for my noncommercial drawing. There are great portrait photos on his blog, you can find the one I chose for this drawing here: http://rifqisphoto.wordpress.com/2012/08/06/the-beauty-style/

Well, if you look at the original photo you’ll definitely notice that the model is much more beautiful than my drawing! Unfortunately I realized it only after scanning my finished work and comparing it to the original photo on my PC. However I think I’ve learned a bit from my mistakes, hope to be able to avoid some of them for my next drawing.
Although I’ve not been successful in making the drawing look like the model, I’m somehow happy with the final result.

Realistic pencil portrait drawing -0,5 mm lead  mechanical pencil on 24x33 cm, 220 g/m Fabriano paper

Realistic pencil portrait drawing
0,5 mm lead mechanical pencil, kneaded eraser
on 24×33 cm, 220 g/m Fabriano paper

Here are some steps of the drawing process, the photos are all taken by a camera, which again because of the low quality (too dark or too light) I had to adjust their lightnings on my computer, otherwise it would have been hard to show how they really looked like:

Step 8 may seem similar to step 9. In step 9 I added final touches to make it look more realistic, it may not be noticeable, but the differences do exists. 🙂
The image of the final work posted above the steps gallery is taken by scanner, however there are subtle differences in respect to the original work. Like the bright area on her nose, in the original drawing that area is less evident, although the shaded areas are similar to the original drawing. I don’t know whether the problem is my scanner, or it is the problem with graphite pencils, ’cause it seems mission impossible to capture my graphite drawings as they really are!

Hope you liked this post. Can’t wait to read what you think about it!

19 thoughts on “I’m happy with the result, but hyper realism is still far away!

  1. My little girl is rather cute as a drawing as well, especially when it’s so well executed. I’m honoured to see me one of my photos used like this.

  2. Meant to comment on this post about a month ago when it first appeared, but then got major sidetracked until now when I’m forcing myself to clean up old business! I can understand your pursuit of hyper-realism, but can’t resist sending out just a very few words of caution which relate to one’s individuality as an artist. It may very well be that you wish to become known for your perfectionism and that will be enough reward for you. If so, that’s just fine and not to be regretted. However, if on the other hand you wish to preserve just a tiny bit of your own style in these drawings then you need to let that part of you express itself even if it means the resulting drawing is not a perfect reproduction of the original source image. That imperfection can be something as simple as a certain softness here or there–and can even be an improvement upon the original image. Just a couple of things for you to mull over on your artistic journey…:-)

    • Thank you for your comment. I understand what you say, and I agree with you, though my scope is something else. It’s like a challenge for me, I just want to reach that point of perfection, and that’s not to become known for it, ’cause I have other plans for the future. It’s not about proving yourself to others, but only to your own self. Like deciding to learn German or Japanese (other challenges of my life put aside for when I’ll have real free time). And of course meanwhile I enjoy the process of practicing and failing to reach the goal, ’cause drawing generally gives me peace and soothes my soul. But after I achieve that point of perfection in drawing, I will switch to free hand drawing, and impressionist painting. I love impressionism, it’s like capturing the soul and personality of the subject with simple strokes of brush, without concentrating too much on detail. However I’ll keep in mind your words, ’cause at the end of the way to learn hyper-realism, I don’t want to get stuck to it, as there is the risk to.

      • Sounds like a plan. Once upon a time I embarked on realism in pencil just to prove I could do it. Did it “good enough” but not to perfection then abandoned it to pursue something more reflective of the real me.

  3. Your poem reminded me of y own personal losses. . .it doesn’t just get better or easier…
    Your drawings are amazingly well done. Thanks for sharing some of you and your pieces. I liked the step by step image.
    Thanks again! Don

    • Thank you so much for your very kind and beautiful words Don. I’m glad that you find my posts useful.
      Hope to restart posting on this blog one day, but for now this wound hurts too much. As you said it doesn’t get better, the pain doesn’t go, I guess we just get used to its suffering after a while, but it will never stop hurting.
      Thanks again for your inspiring words.
      Mary

  4. I am very new to all of this and I stumbled upon this drawing. It is stunning! I struggle with hair and you captured this tousled look! At first glance your work looks like a photo, what talent!! I also enjoy and learn from artists when they show us the development of their work, thank you and please, continue to share.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words Melinda. It’s so uplifting to know that my post could be useful and help others.
      I loved to achieve hyper-realism, but had to stop. Maybe in the near future I’ll give it another try, then will surely share the results here.
      Thank you again, I hope you get where you desire in drawing very soon. Just keep looking at other artists’ works, it may seem incredible, but I’ve learned many things in drawing just by looking at great works, looking not only to see, but to analyze, to study and to memorize as many details as possible in your mind.

Leave a Reply

